Eurydice Games logo

Zombology Frequently Asked Questions

These are the answers to a bunch of frequently asked questions, if you're after the full rules you can find them here.

How do those pre-requisites work again?

As long as the card you are playing is no more than one above the current highest played card in its therapy it will succeed. 1s always succeed. If you have a Guru, you can go to two above the current highest in the therapy of your Guru. Cards resolve in ascending order, so if someone plays a 3 this round and you play a 4, you can use that 3 as the pre-requisite.

Can I play a duplicate card?

Yup. A key part of science is recreating the findings of others, so duplicate away. You can also play a duplicate of a card that you've already played. Remember the important thing is to be seen to be influential in the cure. If you can get seven points by just repeating the same experiment over and over again, why wouldn't you? It's less effort.

Can I play a lower valued card that the current highest in a therapy?

Yup. Yes, that's fine. And it's guaranteed to succeed (as long as you don't get Overrun).

Can I play cards if their pre-requisite is not currently in any player's collection?

Yes. If the required pre-requisite is successfully played this round, your card will succeed and be added to your collection. If the pre-requisite is not played or it fails, then your card will be placed in the centre of the table - it cannot be used as a pre-requisite for another card while it is in the centre of the table.

Do cards in the centre of the table count as pre-requisites?

Nope. To count they must be in a player's collection.

What does a Pay Rise do?

Playing a Pay Rise allows you to take a Guru from the centre of the table or another player's collection and add it to your collection. You can even take a Guru from the collection of a player who has just taken it this turn. Pay Rises are actioned in order, with the lowest number going first, so a higher numbered Pay Rise can steal a Guru from a player who claimed it this turn.

What do Gurus do?

Two things: claim failed cards from the centre of the table into your hand and skip a requirement level.

How do I claim a failed card with a Guru?

Before choosing a card to play this turn, the owner of a Guru can swap a science card from their hand with a science card of the same therapy as their Guru from the centre of the table. They may then choose to play that card this round if they wish. You cannot swap a card that another player has swapped this turn. The Guru owner can use this ability every turn, as long as the Guru remains with them.

How does skipping a requirement work with a Guru?

The owner of a Guru may skip one level of requirement in the same therapy of the Guru. Other player's may not. It lets the Healing Crystals Guru owner play a 5 in Healing Crystals when a 3 is the highest Healing Crystals card in play and everyone else can only play a 4. The Guru owner can use this ability every turn, as long as the Guru remains with them.

Why would I want to Overrun another player's card? I thought we were in this together?

Let's take a moment to consider your motivation for saving humanity. They are a pretty selfish bunch. They've ruined the planet, they fight wars, pick squabbles incessantly and to crown it all they've spent your entire lifetime ridiculing your research. Screw 'em. However, if you can save them and they finally have to accept you were right all along and they will parade you as a hero for the rest of your days then, and only then, it's worth it.

What happens to the card that is Overrun?

It is removed from the game and will play no further part in the game. You can use an Overrun to stop a therapy that you are not supporting from winning (and ending) the game. If you Overrun a 6 (Cured!), that therapy cannot win the game and any cards in that therapy are now useless.

Do I have to use my Army Perimeter if I am Overrun?

Nope. It's your choice: you can either suffer the Overrun (and discard the card you are about to play this turn) or use the Army Perimeter and discard that instead - your card will still be played. Cards discarded in this way are removed from the game.

Can I Overrun an Overrun?

Yes. All Overruns are revealed simultaneously, so you can choose to overrun a face down card or another player's Overrun. The lowest numbered Overrun resolved first, and then so on in ascending order. Obviously if your Overrun is overrun, then it will not resolve.

Any further questions, please let me know and I'll fold them in too.